A Famous Face

Meet Doug, the energy saving caterpillar, courtesy of Greener Scotland

WP_20160620_18_10_10_Pro

He’s retired now, but once was quite the celeb on British Wintertime TV. He spent many a night keeping the cold wind out while my family and I slept in our drafty old house. Fortunately, we now have a nice, new house and Doug gets to rest on the radiator, watching over us all and well out the way of visiting dogs. There’s something about the texture of knitted or crocheted toys that Jack Russell’s seem to really like.

I love Doug. I love that when I first read the pattern I thought “there’s no way I can knit with all these needles” DPN’s were a new and scary thing to me. I love that I was able to make something that was so recognisable & the colours were so cheery in a winter and house that was so cold and bleak. What I love the most about Doug isn’t his multicoloured wonder, or his Lego cute legs or even the fact that he has, on occasion, been worn around the house as a scarf! (I’m naming no names, they know who they are!)

It’s the fact that crafts – knitting this time – were once again brought into the mainstream consciousness. Not  everyone knows how to knit but for a while at least, everyone knew Doug. Any child that visited that house left knowing ‘Doug off the TV’ – he lived in my house and he made us all smile. He still does.

Leave a Reply

