The box of unfinished things.

It’s funny how there’s certain things that we get so used to that we don’t see them anymore.

This morning I thought the pup was too quiet & decided to see what he was up to. Turns out he had found my old sewing box & was having a good old chew.

WP_20170418_10_38_03_Rich

 

I’d completely forgotten about it. It doesn’t house sewing stuff, its been years since I done any serious stitching (not counting last years prom dress!). At some point I’d stuffed it with wool & sat it in a corner. It became invisible.

There’s nothing special in it. A few balls of luxe, a couple of monsters, some bits & pieces for a project long forgotten. A dolls body, complete with 3 different sized arms (not sewn on!), a crocheted furry ball, for some reason. There’s even a half finished Melvin in there, which to me is just wrong!

I painted the box years & years ago. Mum gave it to me when she was moving to the highlands, she didn’t have space for it. She picked it up at a car boot because it was old & she felt sorry for it.

It was a stained a dark tone & was sad looking so a quick makeover was in order. The outside was given a couple of coats of bubblegum pink, a scrap piece of fabric covered the pin cushion but apart from that I’d never really planned what to do with it. I’d had loads of ideas, but never followed anything through to the end.

Now, with the pup damage, it could do with some serious TLC.

I can feel another revamp coming on. Some stencilling and lining, I think. Perhaps new handles. Maybe even wheels! Or a lovely crochet collage!

I need to tuck it back in its place for now. I’ll finish the projects I’m working on now & come back to it when I have a plan, the time to finish it properly & better paint drying weather.

 

One thought on “The box of unfinished things.

Leave a Reply

