Crochet Dilemma – What do I do?

I have a problem.

For the last month I’ve been working on designing a pattern. It’ll be my first self designed  & published paid pattern. A prototype.  I’ve been so excited about it, it ticks all the boxes for me; it’s amigurumi, it’s drawn from my highland heritage, its cute and slightly quirky.

It’s a hairy coo AKA a highland cow.

I’ve been taking my time on it, doing a bit each day & taking time out whenever I made changes so I could view it objectively. I had a deadline in mind (its not passed yet!) But now something has come up.

Crochet Now magazine has a super cute crochet pattern for a highland cow in it this month. It’s be a great designer called Liz Ward & ‘hamish’ as he’s called, is one of the cutest creatures I’ve even seen.

What do I do?

There’s no similarities in them. The Liz Ward pattern is all curves and rounded shapes, while mines is all angles.

Do I still publish?

One moment, I think Yes. After all, just because someone crochets a granny square, doesn’t mean no-one else can crochet one. Then part of my mind says No, you cant publish now. Someone else had beat you to it. Time to move onto something different.

If I listen to the negative, I could end up spending my life designing pieces, only to be pipped at the post by someone else, every time.

What a dilemma. I’ve been mulling over it for a few days now.  I’m still conflicted.

Any advice would be appreciated, dear readers x

4 thoughts on “Crochet Dilemma – What do I do?

  1. Of course you should publish it! If we were only allowed to make things that have never been made before, nobody would ever make anything! And they’re different anyway so it’s not like you would be sharing the exact same thing 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I think now would be the perfect time to publish it – highland cows might turn into the next Pokemon! lol If there’s a magazine featuring it then it must be trending so go for it! It is scary though, I totally get your hesitation – but don’t listen to the ‘self doubt voice’! If you love the pattern then millions of other people will too!! GO FOR IT!! 😀

    Like

  3. I agree with the other comments. You should definitely publish it! If you hadn’t happened to see the magazine you wouldn’t even know about it and as you say it is different. Good luck!

    Like

Leave a Reply

