A springtime Sunday

This morning we took the dog to Cheswick beach, just my boyfriend and I, no teenagers along for a change. It’s well known locally as a great place to walk your dog, especially since the wide expanse of beach means the pooches can be off lead, frolicking in the sand. However, word must have gotten around because as we drove up, there were no less than a dozen cars parked up, as their owners and their dogs headed for the sand dunes. We decided to walk along the path to Cocklerburn, towards the ponds and back along the beach. This kept Jax from getting too distracted by other dogs (translation = being too much of nuisance)

There’s always a lot of photographers out around Northumberland, whatever the weather. I could see them, dotted along the top of the sand dunes, like merecats watching for predators. Along the shoreline you can find all kinds of things that when we have kids with us is counted as treasure. But when we have the dog with us they’re just more things to stop him eating. I managed to save what I thought was razor shell from his chewy chops, only to realise it was cuttlefish! The beach was littered with them, all very small, little cuttlefish skeletons lying in the sand.

There was something really sad too.

On our way off the beach, there was a sign and a bucket. The bucket had tennis balls in it and the sign read (paraphrasing) Our dog smudge loved this beach, please take a ball and play with your dog today in his memory. There was a photo of the most beautiful retriever above the bucket. I choked back tears all the way to the car.  How heartbreaking must it have been for that family to put the sign up, but what a wonderful tribute to their beloved dog. I think I’ll take tennis balls with us the next time we’re going past, and top up the bucket.

Being in the sunshine was fantastic, but the wind was still quite nippy, I’m so glad I wore my fleecy & jacket. Jax is at the awkward stage now where,unless we tell people hes a puppy, they assume he’s an adult dog. Walking is what I love most about living in Northumberland, every day I seem to find a new footpath or route. The scenery is never the same two day in a row. Having Jax means I’ve extended my walking a lot. I’ve always been a walker but now I seem to find every muddy walk in the neighbourhood. If it’s got a puddle in it, chances are I’ve chased my Labrador through it at some point.

This is DAY 21 of my 100 day blog challenge and if I’m honest I’m only just getting into the swing of it now. I’ve forgotten one day, not really got a routine yet but I’m finding it much easier to write. I still don’t think that anyone will really want to read what my life is like but you never know, one day the grand kids might find it and have a laugh. I’m reading more blogs now , so that’s a good thing. I’m working on a plan for the next 20 days, and I’ll compare them to the first 20 and see how I do.

If you have read the blog to this point, I thank you kindly 🙂

One thought on “A springtime Sunday

Leave a Reply

