Dates for the diary.

I went to my first ever yarn festival last year, carving out some quality me time to spend among like minded people. I went to St Abbs Yarn Festival and bought myself some beautiful buttons, some roving and a skein of  delicious hand dyed alpaca yarn.

This year I’m aiming to get to 3. There’s load’s going on across the country, a lot are aimed at knitters but I imagine there’s plenty for crocheters there too!

So, here’s my choices so far :

Edinburgh Yarn Festival – How can I resist 2 days of fabulousness in the nations capital? Although advertised for knitters, there’s no doubt a crocheter would find plenty to smile about. Running on 10th & 11th March

Hobbycraft Birmingham – this will be huge. All crafts will be catered to, so if you love being in the midst of the creative hurly burly then this will be your nirvana. Might be a bit busy for me, though. Held in Birmingham NEC on the 16th, 17th and 18th March. 

St Abbs Yarn Fest – now held in Eyemouth community centre, there’s even more to see, do and buy. For me, it’s very close to home, about 15 minutes travel. This one is an almost definite, it’s being held on the 8th of April. 

Woolfest –  All things wool, from the sheep onwards. Who doesn’t love sheep? Held in Cockermouth, Cumbria, running from 23 & 24 June.

Yarndale – this one caught my eye on Instagram, everyone looked like they had mega amounts of fun. Proclaimed as a festival of creativity and craft, its held in Skipton, on 23 &24 September.

Loch Ness Knit Fest – In its second year, this festival is being held in Inverness Ice Centre….. AN ICE CENTRE! I foresee a trip north in the late autumn for yours truly. The festival is running on the 13th, 14th & 15th October.

I’m sure that there’s many, many more going on across the country and perhaps next year I’ll look further afield.

Let me know if there’s any near you that you’d like to tell people about, or if you recommend any of the ones above.

 

 

Leave a Reply

