Feel the Fear

Yesterday I published my first pattern, for free, on Ravelry. It was absolutely terrifying. In a house with no one else in it, I was bombarded with voices, all negative, all my own. Why do we do that to ourselves? Publishing patterns is one of the things on my TO DO BEFORE 40 list and I’m in final 12 month sprint. I see sharing my patterns as an extension of writing this blog, which isn’t coming naturally to me (yet) but is something I really want to do. I’m an introvert at heart and don’t like drawing attention to myself, good or bad. But stronger than any of the ‘OMG, what am I doing?’ voices is my conviction that all skills should be shared. what’s the point in knowing how to do something, if you don’t pass it on?

Can you imagine making something, knowing that you are the last person to do it?

So, I published my pattern, the Richard of York Ripple blanket. I published it because someone just might need it written out in front of them. They might need it as a PDF, they may not come across this blog, so I published (even though I suspect most crocheters could work it out for themselves). If it makes things easier for one person, it’s worth it.

Was still bl**dy scary though ๐Ÿ˜‰

PS, the pattern’sย here

One thought on “Feel the Fear

Leave a Reply

