It’s all about ME!!

I thought I’d take this opportunity to introduce myself a wee bit more and let you know the kind of things I’m working on at the moment.

I live in Northumberland, just a few short miles from the Scottish Border. I’ve lived here for 12 years now, with my partner and 3 teenage kids, although originally I come from Glasgow.  I work as a community artist and arts & crafts tutor, which I love. I’ve been crafting as long as I can remember. I come from a huge creative family; woodworkers, mechanics, poets, illustrators, embroiderers, there was always something being made or fixed when I was younger.

Now, I pass the skills on to the next generation through my own kids and those I work with. There’s not a craft that I can think of that I haven’t at least tried! I’m not keen on card-making, or decoupage although I could do them if I had to. 🙂

I prefer making amigurumi and crochet toys mostly as I think they’re really cute, they make great presents, you can personalise them and so on. When my son was younger I knitted him a teddy bear just like Mr Bean’s and to this day he talks about it ( he gave it to his sisters a few years ago) I make blankets as well, recently I finished a mermaid tail Tunisian blanket, which is an amazing way to use up odd balls of yarn. My gran used to make crochet blankets (she taught me how to crochet) and my children still want their great granny’s “cosy” when they’re ill. It’s one of their precious items.

So, the things I’m working on just now. Like most creative people I have more than one W.I.P on the go because I get bored REALLY easily.

My youngest daughter wants to make her own prom dress, so that in the early stages just now. I’m working on a pixel blanket that was ordered recently – making over a thousand 3cm squares is no where near as much fun as it sounds! All those ends!

I made my first African violet hex crochet recently ( see I’ve been hexed!) and I’m creating a bundle of them to play about with and to establish the pattern in my muscle memory, I’m also working on preemie hats for a local hospital ( I do these while travelling) and some 20cm squares for the haberdashery department of John Lewis in Newcastle. These are being collected and used for charity items.

And I think that’s it for now, although my brothers birthday is in late August and I’m planning a Pokemon hat of some sort for him! Oh, and there’s a few designs I’d like to draft up & lalylala has a new pattern out & Heidibears & I saw a fab scarf recently that my mum would love, and my eldest daughter has asked for captain America sweater & & & …………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………… you get the idea!

 

Leave a Reply

