Richard of York Ripple Blanket

fotor_(2)

I can’t make up my mind about this one. My youngest daughter snagged it as soon as it came off the hook. Sometimes I love it, sometimes meh.

It’s a basic ripple pattern, which I got into the rhythm of really quickly and although I’d be lying if I said it’s portable, its a compulsive crochet.

This one’s made in DK, with a 4mm hook, and done in trebles. It fits a single bed comfortably & is big enough for 2 to snuggle under on the sofa. I used Hayfield Bonus DK. It’s a decent acrylic yarn and the best thing is it’s machine washable and can be tumble dried. Each colour uses up about 230g but if I was making it again I’d plan for 300g. There’s nothing worse than running out of yarn 3/4 of the way through (trust me!)

 

THE RIPPLE

The blanket was 283 stitches wide. The ripple needs multiples of 14 plus an extra 3.

Cast on 283.

treble in the 4th hook from chain.

1 treble in next 4 stitches.

next  *2 x  tr2tog,  1 treble in nest 4 stitches, 2 trebles in next stitch, 2 trebles in next stitch, 1 trebles in next 4 stitches,*  repeat until 4 stitches from end, then 1 treble in next 3 stitches, 2 treble in  last stitch.

 

This is the basic ripple and the colouring starts with 6 rows of each: * Red, Orange, Yellow, Green, Blue, Indigo, Violet* This is the full colour block. I  decreased one row with each colour block til I got to one row of each colour. This is the middle of the blanket. At this point, the rows colour starts increasing by one row each block.

I moved house in the midst of making this blanket and I admit, sometimes it was the only thing that kept me sane. It’s not one of those things that I could just churn out, it took a good while , but for something to do while watching TV, or listening to audio books, it’s hard to beat.

xx

 

 

Leave a Reply

